The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared George Sekibo, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the rerun election in Rivers East senatorial district.

Oji Ekumankama, Returning Officer of the election, announced this at Council Hall, Port Harcourt, venue of the collation, on Monday afternoon.

He said Sekibo polled 93,098 votes ahead of Andrew Uchendu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who had 34,193 votes.

This came after Rivers State Governor Nyesom Wike accused The Transportation Minister, Rotimi Amaechi of using the Army and the Police to hijack Ikwerre results on Saturday night.

Ikwerre and Emohua are two of eight LGAs that constitute Rivers East senatorial district.

Rotimi Amaechi, Nigeria’s Transportation Minister hails from Ikwerre in Rivers East Senatorial District.

INEC has also declared Osinachukwu Ideozu, winner of the of the Rivers West senatorial district election.

Mr. Ideozu was announced winner Tuesday afternoon with 107,166 votes. He defeated Otelemaba Amachree of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who garnered 48,898 votes.

The only senatorial seat won by the All Progressives Congress is Rivers South East, and won by Senator Magnus Abe.

The Returning Officer, Professor Gideon Onukwuisi, had earlier declared Abe winner on Sunday after announcing the result at the collation centre in Bori, Khana Local Government Area. Abe polled 125,938 votes to beat his opponent from the Peoples Democratic Party, Olaka Wogu, who got 25,394 votes.